Singapore abstains in UN vote on Palestine

Singapore abstained from voting either for or against a United Nations resolution to recognize Palestine as a non-member observer state. The UN General Assembly voted overwhelmingly in favour of the resolution to recognize Palestine. A total of 138 UN members voted for the resolution, 41 abstained while nine voted against the resolution.

Associated Press reports:

Just nine nations voted against the Palestinian Authority’s upgrade to nonvoting observer state status, which passed the General Assembly 138-9, with 41 abstentions.

Voting “no” Thursday were Israel, the United States and Canada, joined by the Czech Republic, Panama and several Pacific island nations: Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru and Palau. The Pacific nations typically support the U.S. and Israel at the U.N. on key General Assembly resolutions.

Singapore abstained as did Britain, Australia, Germany, Netherlands, South Korea, Albania, Andorra, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia/Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Estonia, Fiji, Guatemala, Haiti, Hungary, Lithuania, Malawi, Monaco, Montenegro, Mongolia, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Samoa, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Teyr Macedonia,Tonga and Vanuatu.

Norway voted for the resolution. So did Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, France, Italy, Austria, Belgium, New Zealand, Japan, China, India, Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines and Indonesia among others.

UN Web TV shows the UN member states voting on the resolution.